Stoneware vs. Cast-iron

April 16, 2010

I had previously purchased a lovely Le Creuset pot, on sale! $65. Thats a steal, right?! So just to make sure I was getting the correct tool I needed, I explained to the sales girl that I wanted the one  you can use on the stove top and then transfer into the oven. The best invention ever. I got a clear “YES! this is the one” and after a couple more “Are you sure?? cause it’s really inexpensive for a Le Creuset pot” she assured me that I would love my new pot . So,  I left dreaming about all the wonderful dishes I would make with my new purchase.

Too good to be true 😦 I started with a little rice on the stove top, less than 2 minutes later… IT SHATTERS! Luckily, no one was hurt.

Lesson to be learned:

There is a difference between Stoneware and cast-iron. Stoneware is for baking. cast-iron is the one I want and costs hundreds more. Lesson learned.  And don’t worry, I returned that shattered pot and got my money back; im saving up for that shiny cast-iron one.

One Response to “Stoneware vs. Cast-iron”

  1. nykush.com Says:

    Greetings I am so excited I found your blog, I really found you
    by error, while I was browsing on Aol for something
    else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a tremendous post and a all
    round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but I have saved it and
    also included your RSS feeds, so when I have
    time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the superb
    jo.


Leave a Reply

