Spicy Pinto Beans

May 7, 2010

Rice, beans and tortillas were always found in my mothers kitchen when I was growing up. Just having rice and beans with anything is a comfort food for me and they’ve become almost second nature to make. While rice only takes 20 minutes to make, beans take a lot longer and were usually made on a weekly bases in large batches and eaten throughout the week (none of this canned stuff). This is a pretty basic recipe, with just a few simple additions.

Ingredients:

  • 1 package of pinto beans
  • 1 small onion (chunked)
  • 2-3 cloves garlic
  • 2-3 Canned Jalapenos
  • 1 cup Jalapeno juice

Preparation:

Rinse beans through a strainer and put in a large pot. Fill pot with enough wantr to cover the beans about 2 inches and bring to a boil. Once you have a rolling boil, remove from heat and let beans soak for 1-4 hours (or until they are soft enough to be squished with your fingers). Discard soaking water and rinse beans one more time then  re-fill pot with water. Bring back to a boil and add onion, garlic, Jalapenos and Juice. Simmer for 1-2 hours or until the beans are soupy.

*With this you have your stock of beans which can then be prepared into re-fried beans at a later date.

5 Responses to “Spicy Pinto Beans”


  1. […] Spicy pinto beans- Prepared by my sister, Thanks Nadya! […]


  2. […] Spicy pinto beans- Prepared by my sister, Thanks Nadya! […]


  3. This is great! I always have the intention to use dried beans, but normally laziness takes over and I end up using the canned ones instead.
    Do you find dried are much superiour?
    Great blog by the way….
    I also have some videos up on youtube, they’re linked from the blogroll on my page. Videos are the way forward 🙂


  4. And I’m loving the Kitchen Casualties section.. 🙂

  5. kitchen237 Says:

    Thanks for the comments! I have to admit, out of sheer laziness I hardly ever make beans myself because they take so long, but I also cant get myself to buy the canned ones cause they cannot compare! It’s like having second best and all i want is the real deal. But keep in mind you can always freeze them or incorporate them into all kinds of dishes to use throughout the week. If you get a chance to make them, let me know how they come out 🙂


Leave a Reply

